ATCH Visiting Fellows Program 2022-23

The ATCH Research Centre is pleased to announce the 2022-23 Visiting Fellows:

  • Pollyanna Rhee (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Maryia Rusak (Oslo School of Architecture and Design)
  • Maarten Liefooghe (ACC Research Centre, Ghent University)
  • Maarten Van Den Driessche (ACC Research Centre, Ghent University) 
About the Visiting Fellows Program

The ATCH Visiting Fellows Program welcomes applications from Australian and international scholars carrying out critical research in architecture. The Program supports short term residencies of up to one month for scholars to work on innovative research concerned with the history, theory, and criticism of architecture. Projects that overlap with ATCH priority research themes are favoured, and collaborative outcomes with current ATCH scholars are encouraged. ATCH offers up to six Fellowship positions annually. The Program welcomes applicants at all career stages, but particularly encourages proposals from early- and mid-career scholars. Visiting Fellowships are not open to postgraduate students. The Visiting Fellows Research Program provides a return airfare to Brisbane and a workspace within the Centre. All Fellows have access to UQ libraries, including the Fryer Library and Architecture and Music Library. Support for accommodation may also be available depending on the applicant’s financial circumstances and the duration of the stay. Visiting Fellows are required to present their research in a public lecture, participate in seminars and conferences organised during their residency, and contribute to HDR events. Published outcomes of research undertaken during the Fellowship should acknowledge ATCH and the UQ School of Architecture. While ATCH Visiting Fellows are primarily solicited through EOIs, the Centre may also directly invite Fellows to participate in the program.

While ATCH Visiting Fellows are primarily solicited through EOIs, the Centre may also directly invite Fellows to participate in the program.

How to Apply

Applications for ATCH Visiting Fellows are currently closed. Please check back for future announcements.

For more information please contact ATCH Director, Dr. Ashley Paine:

Past visiting fellows

From 2009 through to 2019, ATCH had a number of established visiting fellows.

  • Assistant Professor Tino Mager - 2019
  • Dr Emily Pugh - 2019
  • Dr Lorenzo Ciccarelli - 2019
  • Assistant Professor Lydia Kallipoliti - 2019
  • Professor Rajesh Heynickx - 2019
  • Dr Ayano Toki - 2019
  • Associate Professor Sven Sterken - 2018
  • Associate Professor Helena Mattsson - 2018
  • Associate Professor Vandana Baweja - 2017
  • Dr Isabelle Doucet - 2017
  • Dr Jordan Kauffman - 2017
  • Dr Max Hirsch - 2017
  • Dr Guido Cimadomo - 2017
  • Dr Tom Brigden - 2017
  • Associate Professor Maarten Liefooghe - 2017
  • Associate Professor Catharina Gabrielsson - 2017
  • Professor Andong Lu - 2016
  • Professor Marc Treib - 2016
  • Professor Wouter Davidts - 2016
  • Dr Helene Frichot - 2016
  • Dr Lina Malfona - 2015
  • Dr Lea-Catherine Szacka - 2015
  • Professor Tom Avermaete - 2014
  • Assistant Professor Andrew Holder
  • Professor Marco Biraghi
  • Tom Weaver
  • Associate Professor John Harwood
  • Professor Jasper Cepl
  • Dr Silvia Micheli
  • Adjunct Associate Professor Erik Gheniou