2019 merit and academic architecture award winners

10 Dec 2019

2019 winners of the UQ Architecture Academic and Merit Awards are:

A E Brooks Travelling Scholarship:
Awarded to a student who successfully describes how their proposed international travel, and subsequently their knowledge and experience gained, will develop architecture in Queensland.
Value - approx. $2,500. The number of scholarships awarded varies on an annual basis.
Awarded to Kelly Nortje, Meghna Prasanth, Lara Rann, Siubhan Rudge

​Ceridwen Indigenous Scholarship
Awarded to a student who most successfully describes how their study or research will serve to benefit Indigenous (Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander) children in Australia.
Value - min. $3,500 but limited to the annual income from the fund.
Awarded to Wei Win Loy

Conrad Gargett Architectural Design Prize
Awarded annually to the student with the highest GPA in the architectural design courses in the first 3 years of the Bachelor of Architectural Design.
Value - $1,000 plus professional experience with Conrad Gargett Architects
Awarded to Kirsty Green

Conrad Gargett Public Architecture Prize
Awarded annually, by application, to a UQ final year Master of Architecture graduating student.
Value - $5,000 + $2,000 contribution to travel, book voucher and 2 year membership to Australian Institute of Architects.
Awarded to Lewis Orgar

The dwp Prize for Architecture
Awarded to a full-time, final year student of the Master of Architecture program who has undertaken the Architecture and Commerce Design Studio in Semester 1 or 2 and demonstrated the highest quality presentation of their work.
Value - $1,500
Awarded to Madeleine John

Guilford Bell Scholarship
Supporting a research higher degree candidate in observing architectural methods used overseas.
Value - $5,000
Awarded to Dilrabo Tosheva

Karl & Gertrude Langer Memorial Drawing Prize
Awarded to a student enroled in the Bachelor of Architectural Design or Master of Architecture for the best architectural drawing.
Awarded to Soobeen Jo

Peter Hale Cox Architecture Prize
Awarded annually to the student graduating from the Master of Architecture who obtains the highest GPA in the subject areas of design, technology and practice studies across the two years of the Master of Architecture (coursework) program.
Value - $3,000 + paid internship offer
Awarded to Adelaide Hampson

R. Martin Wilson Memorial Prize
For a Master of Architecture Year 1 student whose work exhibits the most successful demonstration of the creative integration of architectural technology with imaginative design.
Value - $1,000
Awarded to Ryan Browne

Bligh Tanner Prize
Awarded annually to the student in the first year of the Bachelor of Architectural Design program who submits the best project exhibiting a successful integration of architectural design, science and technology
Awarded to Vivien Ng

John Simpson Prize
Awarded to a Master of Architecture student who submits a project that best exhibits the successful integration of architectural design, science and technology.
Awarded to Hamish Buchhorn

The Responsible Wood Prize
Awarded to a Master of Architecture student with the best performance in a course or courses dealing with timber structures. This may include research-based courses where the research topic is in timber structures.
Awarded to Monique Pousson

Jane Grealy Award
A student in the first year of Bachelor of Architectural Design for the greatest accomplishment in the representation of architecture and communication of architectural ideas.
Awarded to Leo Wei

Global Grad Show (Dubai)
Peter Reilly

BIRRELL Scholars
Courtney Albertini
Aaron Barton
Patricia Bozyk
Songyang Cen
Yanyin Chen
Olivia Daw
Daniel Foote
Jesse Grant
Bailey Gray
Kirsty Green
Adelaide Hampson
William Job
Jiayi Li
Lauren Logan
Wei Yin Loy
Naomi Mackenzie
Connor McBeath
Isaac McKay
Nino Middleton
Lewis Orgar
Meghna Prasanth
Mariana Reher
Alexander Remmelt
Hannah Rowlands
Charles Sale
Edward Smith
Hudson Smith
Morgan Sodenkamp
Joshua Tanner
Chelsea Walker
Lachlan Whitaker

BRUCE Executive Committee
President  - Hudson Smith
Vice President  - Suhas Rames
Secretary - Ryan Wallace
Treasurer - Hannah Rowlands

Handover Exhibition Committee
Genevieve Quinn
Emerald Vermeer
Hudson Smith
Olivia Daw
Georgia Sewell
Yasmine Melis
Daniel Lonergan
Lewis Orgar
Adelaide Hampson
Jesse Grant
Kelton Boyter-Grant
Abigail Lee
Leah Hartley