Academic Prizes and Scholarships 2022

21 April 2023

On Thursday 20 April, the School of Architecture celebrated the 2022 prize winners and acknowledged our generous donors at UQ Brisbane City. These gifts see us continue activities such as the Summer Exhibition, activities that provide students with opportunities for industry networking and student social events.  These activities contribute significantly to the wellbeing of our students and enhance their experience throughout their studies. 

2022 winners of the UQ Architecture Academic and Merit Awards are:

Conrad Gargett Architectural Design Prize - Awarded to Harold Chandler
Awarded annually to the student with the Highest GPA in the following five architectural design courses - ARCH1100, ARCH1201, ARCH2100, ARCH2200 and ARCH3100.

Ceridwen Indigenous Scholarship - Awarded to Alahni Brown
Awarded to a student who most successfully describes how their study or research will serve to benefit Indigenous (Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander) children in Australia.

Conrad Gargett Public Architecture Prize - Awarded to Emily Richter and Esther Pearce
Awarded by application to two graduating Master of Architecture students based on a Master’s design project that best embodies the ideas for architecture and its relationship to the public realm, and a domestic travel proposal that enables them to gain greater understanding and knowledge of the role of public architecture in formation of cities and communities.

Guilford Bell Scholarship - Awarded to Jessica Spresser
Awarded by application to a Higher Degree by Research candidate in the field of Architecture, based on an overseas travel proposal to observe architectural methods, their significance and relevance to the applicant's candidature, and potential to enhance the quality of the applicant's Higher Degree by Research thesis.

Karl & Gertrude Langer Memorial Drawing Prize - Awarded to Anna Vladimirov and Tomas Ray
Awarded to a student enrolled in the Bachelor of Architectural Design or Master of Architecture for the best architectural drawing.

Master of Architecture Thesis Prize - Awarded to Emily Bell
Awarded to a Master of Architecture student with the best architectural thesis submitted for the year.

Peter Hale Cox Architecture Prize - Awarded to Julia Comer
Awarded annually to the student graduating from the Master of Architecture who obtains the highest GPA in the subject areas of design, technology and practice studies across the two years of the Master of Architecture program.

R. Martin Wilson Memorial Prize - Awarded to Qiang Yang
Awarded to a Master of Architecture student whose work exhibits the most successful demonstration of the creative integration of architectural technology with imaginative design.

Think Brick Australia Prize - Awarded to Ally Molachino and Joel Wilhelmi
Awarded to two Master of Architecture and/or Master of Urban Development and Design students for the best use of bricks, blocks or roof tiles in a Master’s design studio.

QIA Memorial Medallion 2022 - Awarded to Julia Comer
The QIA Memorial Medallion was established in 1948 as an outside prize to commemorate the Queensland Institute of Architects which was founded in 1888 and later became the Royal Australian Institute of Architects, Queensland Chapter (now known as the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) Queensland Chapter). The Medallion is maintained by a donation from the AIA Queensland Chapter.

This prize is open to all BArch students or MArchstudents and is awarded to the highest GPA in the final 2 years of the BArch or March.

Board of Architects Queensland Prize 2022 - Awarded to Thomas Webster
Highest overall GPA based on a combination of studies completed in the Bachelor of Architectural Design and the Master of Architecture.

Congratulations to all students and thank you to our generous donors who make these prizes possible.